Watauga County North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) 4 Hour | 8 Hour Driver Improvement Clinic
N.C. Defensive Driving Courses for Court Requirements and Insurance Discounts
Watauga County, North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) Defensive Driving Course – North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) residents can take our 4 Hour & 8 Hour (depending on the one you need) driver improvement course for deferring fines for traffic offenses (police citations and moving violation tickets) in many counties. NC County Court’s city courts have been traffic safety clinic friendly for ticket dismissal upon completion of the drivers safety class.
Did you know that 94% of all driving traffic collisions are caused by driver actions related to their attitudes, driver behaviors, and personal decisions – NOT lack of skill?
If you are a legally licensed North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) driver, you already know how to drive. You may however, benefit from a little self-discipline and refocusing on things we all take for granted on the streets and highways. That is where the traffic safety school clinic, otherwise known as defensive driving course comes in.
Watauga County, North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) drivers may take the traffic safety class for an auto insurance discount. Most car insurance companies and insurance policies allow for at least a 10% discount on the “liability” portion of you auto insurance policy premiums. This can translate to $350 per year savings for some drivers. The average North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) drivers would certainly benefit overall in the course of one year after taking the course. Most insurance companies will keep the discount in effect for three years after the completion of the class.
Our 4-hour course is completely self-paced, so you can work through those hours at whatever speed you wish. The 8 chapters include animations, graphics, and videos to keep you entertained while you learn more efficiently. And we also offer an Audio version, if you’d rather listen to the material than read it!
Our 8-hour class is completely self-paced, so you can view and listen at whatever speed you wish. The 8 chapters include cartoon animations, video graphics, and short videos to keep you entertained while you learn more efficiently.
Each chapter ends with a short 10-question quiz to help you review, and your final exam is entirely multiple-choice – so you’ve already got the answers in front of you! Most of the answers will come easy as you should already know them. You cannot fail!
The 8-hour traffic class is requested by some North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) traffic court judges while the shorter 4-hour class can be fine with other court judges and for an auto insurance discount.
The 4-hour traffic safety course includes short cartoon-like clips which are actually quite fun to watch.
The N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles, NC DMV, places driver license points against the driving records of individuals convicted of certain motor vehicle violations in the state. (Additional information about driver license points is available in Chapter 3 of the North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) Driver’s Handbook.)
Eligible drivers who accumulate seven points can have three deducted from their record by successfully completing a four-hour driver improvement clinic.
A driver, however, can attend a clinic only once every five years.
North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) 4 -Hour and 8-Hour Driving Course Online
Take all the hassle out of traffic school with our online course. Forget about spending a Saturday in a classroom; with our North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) 4 Hour and 8 Hour Traffic Safety Courses, you can study from any place you choose (even at home!) and you don’t have to work at any one time. Study in the morning, afternoon, or night, any time you want.
- Log in and out whenever you’d like at your convenience
- Work through the course in any setting at your choosing
- Use any computer or smartphone, as long as it has an Internet connection
Remember that you’ll need to get approval from the court, judge or local district attorney to take this online course.
Traffic Safety Guidelines List
Safety is the N.C. Department of Transportation’s highest priority when it comes to those who travel North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas)’s roads. Below are some general guidelines for various situations that can help drivers, motorcyclists and bicyclists safely arrive at their destinations.
Even though workers might not be present in work zones, motorists should still expect narrowed or closed lanes, traffic shifts and reduced speed limits as well as other conditions that might affect normal travel.
The following guidelines apply not only to general travel but also travel through work zones:
- Stay alert
- Wear a seat belt
- Don’t drink and drive
- Be patient and obey posted speed limits. (The penalty for speeding through a marked work zone is $250.)
- Use alternate routes, when possible, to avoid traffic congestion.
- Use approved child restraints
- Be patient and obey the posted speed limit;
- Don’t tailgate
- Avoid in-car distractions
- Watch out for road debris
- Leave early to get a head start on your drive and travel at non-peak times
North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas)’s “Move Over” law requires drivers to change lanes or slow down (if shifting lanes isn’t possible) when passing stopped law enforcement and emergency vehicles, wreckers with flashing lights and incident management assistance patrol vehicles.
The “Fender Bender” law requires drivers involved in non-injury wrecks to clear the roadway to help keep traffic moving and reduce the likelihood of secondary crashes.
Heavy rain and flash flooding can create hazardous driving conditions, thereby increasing the likelihood of a wreck. Take the following precautions to help stay safe:
- Stay off the roads. If you must drive, be sure your tires and brakes are in good working condition.
- Allow yourself more time to get where you’re going. Drive at least 5 to 10 mph slower than the speed limit on wet pavement.
- Stay alert and be ready for sudden stops. Allow at least twice the normal following distance between vehicles.
- Signal for turns and brake earlier than usual as you near a turn or stop.
- Be patient and do not pass lines of traffic.
- Turn on your headlights, as required by North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) law, while using your windshield wipers – regardless of the time of day.
- Turn on your low-beam headlights and use the defroster to increase visibility – regardless of whether it is day or night. High beams, or “brights,” could reflect off fog and decrease visibility.
- Avoid driving through pools of standing water – even if they seem shallow. Water could be covering road hazards, such as holes, fallen power lines or debris.
- Also avoid flooded areas. A foot of water, for example, can cause vehicles to float, while 2 feet of rushing water can carry away vehicles, including SUVs and pick-up trucks.
- If your vehicle begins to hydroplane – when your tires glide across the surface of water on a road – take your foot off the gas and apply the brakes in a steady, slightly firm manner (don’t stomp on them). Then steer in the direction of the skid.
- For manual transmissions, push in the clutch and let the vehicle slow down on its own.
- For automatic transmissions, hold the steering wheel steady and lightly apply the brakes.
- For vehicles with antilock brakes, apply more steady pressure to the brakes, but avoid pumping them.
NCDOT proactively plans for winter weather and has crews ready to clear roads. Still, driving in icy or snowy weather can be dangerous, and the safest way to prevent a wreck is to stay off the roads. If you must travel during winter weather, take these guidelines into consideration:
Anyone who has been deprived of sleep runs the risk of becoming drowsy while on the road. To prevent becoming drowsy while driving:
- Get at least six hours of good sleep the night before a trip – eight hours or more is preferred
- Take a break every two hours or every 150 miles – sooner if you become drowsy. Going on a short walk or stretching will help increase blood flow and keep you awake. If possible, find a safe place where you can rest or nap.
- Travel at times when you are normally awake. Try to avoid being on the road when the human body typically wants rest: midnight to 6 a.m. and 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.
- Travel with a passenger who will stay awake with you and keep a conversation going.
- Drink a caffeinated beverage and wait about 30 minutes for it to enter your bloodstream. Remember, however, that caffeine will help keep you awake but not necessarily alert.
Drivers who are distracted behind the wheel are more likely to react slower to traffic conditions than drivers who are focused on the road. Inattentive drivers are also more likely to miss potential safety hazards or less likely to skillfully conduct preventative or evasive moves to avoid a wreck.
To help cut down on distractions inside your vehicle:
- Avoid texting or talking on your cellphone while driving. Texting while driving is illegal in North Carolina (N.C., AAA Carolinas) as is using a cellphone if you’re a driver under age 18.
- Don’t eat while behind the wheel. It takes your hands off the steering wheel and your eyes off the road.
- Program your radio stations or music device for easy access and select your music before you start to drive.
- Keep the stereo at a volume low enough so that you can hear sounds outside of your vehicle such as a siren, a horn or the screeching of tires.
- Designate a front-seat passenger to serve as a “co-pilot,” so you do not have to fumble with maps or navigation systems. If you are driving alone, map out destinations in advance.
- Do your personal grooming at home, not on the road.
- Teach children the importance of good behavior while in a vehicle. Do not underestimate how distracting it can be to tend to them in the car.
- Make sure pets are in a carrier.
To help limit distractions outside your vehicle:
- Avoid reading signs or watching activity on the roadside for long periods of time.
- Do not stop and talk to people who are outside your vehicle.
- Only allow passengers to enter your vehicle when it is parked in a safe location. Do not pick up riders at stoplights or stop signs.
Federal law specifies that daylight time applies from 2 a.m. on the second Sunday of March until 2 a.m. on the first Sunday of November in most areas. The time change can present challenges for motorists.
- Be sure all of your vehicle’s lights (i.e., headlights, parking lights, turn signals, emergency flashers, brake lights, tail and marker lights, interior lights and instrumentation lighting) work properly.
- Use the night setting on your rearview mirror to avoid the glare from headlights.
- Switch your headlights from high beam to low beam as oncoming vehicles approach.
- Be alert and watchful for bicyclists and pedestrians on the roadside and at crosswalks.
- Remove sunglasses at dusk to increase visibility. Drivers often forget they are wearing them.
- Keep your eyes moving from side to side while driving. This practice keeps your eyes adjusted to the dark and helps avoid “highway hypnosis,” a state which impairs reaction time.
- Be sure you are well rested. Adjusting to the loss of an hour of sleep can make you tired. Do not drive if you feel drowsy.
The majority of deer-vehicle collisions typically occur between 5 p.m. and 7 a.m. from October and December (during mating and hunting seasons) when deer movement increases and limited lighting makes it more difficult for drivers to see them on or near roads.
- Drive slowly in posted deer crossing areas and heavily wooded areas, especially during the dark hours of fall.
- Drive with your high beams on, when possible, and watch out for eyes reflecting in the headlights.
- Remember that deer often travel in groups, so don’t assume that all is clear if one deer has already passed.
- Don’t swerve to avoid contact with a deer. This could cause your vehicle to flip or veer into oncoming traffic, causing a more serious wreck.